Compare › Ally Invest vs Robinhood
Ally Invest vs Robinhood: fees and fine print
Full transfer-out: Ally Invest $50 vs Robinhood $0; cash rate: Ally Invest 0% vs Robinhood 3.6% APY (Gold), per each broker's official pages (checked Oct 30, 2026).
Last updated · 7 official sources (listed below)
The costs that don't show up in "$0 commissions": leaving, reverse splits, tender offers, and what idle cash earns. Every cell links to the broker's own page.
Where they differ
- Full ACATS transfer-out fee: Ally Invest $50 vs Robinhood $0
- Partial transfer-out fee: Ally Invest $50 vs Robinhood $0
- Fractional shares after a reverse split: Ally Invest Not published vs Robinhood Keeps fractions (usually)
- Voluntary reorg / odd-lot tender fee: Ally Invest $50 vs Robinhood $0
- Fractional share trading: Ally Invest Not published vs Robinhood Yes
- Rate on uninvested cash: Ally Invest 0% vs Robinhood 3.6% APY (Gold)
| Fact | Ally Invest | Robinhood |
|---|---|---|
| Full ACATS transfer-out fee | $50 IRAs: plus a $25 closure fee on a full outgoing transfer ($75 total). source · Oct 30, 2026 | $0 Fee schedule lists one outgoing ACATS fee; no full/partial split. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Partial transfer-out fee | $50 source · Oct 30, 2026 | $0 Same single line as full transfers. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Reverse split / mandatory reorg fee | Not published | Not published |
| Fractional shares after a reverse split | Not published | Keeps fractions (usually) Round-ups are paid when received from the issuer. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Voluntary reorg / odd-lot tender fee | $50 source · Oct 30, 2026 | $0 Help center: 'We also accept orders to participate in voluntary corporate actions like tender offers'. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| DRIP (auto dividend reinvestment) | Yes Marginable US stocks and selected ADRs priced $4+. source · Oct 30, 2026 | Yes source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Fractional share trading | Not published | Yes source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Rate on uninvested cash | 0% Self-Directed cash earns nothing; Ally Bank accounts are separate. source · Oct 30, 2026 | 3.6% APY (Gold) Requires Robinhood Gold subscription and opting in to High-Yield Cash. Non-Gold rate not stated on this page. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
Full pages: Ally Invest fees · Robinhood fees · Ally Invest cash rate · Robinhood cash rate
Questions
Is it cheaper to leave Ally Invest or Robinhood?
Full transfer-out: Ally Invest $50, Robinhood $0 (official fee schedules).
Which pays more on cash, Ally Invest or Robinhood?
Ally Invest: 0% (Self-Directed cash earns nothing; Ally Bank accounts are separate). Robinhood: 3.6% APY (Gold) (Requires Robinhood Gold subscription and opting in to High-Yield Cash. Non-Gold rate not stated on this page).
Sources
- https://cdn.robinhood.com/assets/robinhood/legal/RHF%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/gold/
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/support/articles/dividend-reinvestment/
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/support/articles/fractional-shares/
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/support/articles/mergers-stock-splits-and-more/
- https://www.ally.com/help/invest/dividend-reinvestment/
- https://www.ally.com/invest/commissions-and-fees/
Each source was read on or before Oct 30, 2026. Fees and rates change; confirm on the broker's site before acting.