Compare › Robinhood vs Fidelity
Robinhood vs Fidelity: fees and fine print
Full transfer-out: Robinhood $0 vs Fidelity $0; cash rate: Robinhood 3.6% APY (Gold) vs Fidelity 3.52%, per each broker's official pages (checked Oct 30, 2026).
Last updated · 8 official sources (listed below)
The costs that don't show up in "$0 commissions": leaving, reverse splits, tender offers, and what idle cash earns. Every cell links to the broker's own page.
Where they differ
- Reverse split / mandatory reorg fee: Robinhood Not published vs Fidelity $0
- Fractional shares after a reverse split: Robinhood Keeps fractions (usually) vs Fidelity Not published
- Fractional share trading: Robinhood Yes vs Fidelity Yes ($1 min)
- Rate on uninvested cash: Robinhood 3.6% APY (Gold) vs Fidelity 3.52%
| Fact | Robinhood | Fidelity |
|---|---|---|
| Full ACATS transfer-out fee | $0 Fee schedule lists one outgoing ACATS fee; no full/partial split. source · Oct 30, 2026 | $0 One 'Transfer of assets' line; no full/partial split. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Partial transfer-out fee | $0 Same single line as full transfers. source · Oct 30, 2026 | $0 Same single line as full transfers. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Reverse split / mandatory reorg fee | Not published | $0 Foreign assets held in USD: 1% of principal. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Fractional shares after a reverse split | Keeps fractions (usually) Round-ups are paid when received from the issuer. source · Oct 30, 2026 | Not published |
| Voluntary reorg / odd-lot tender fee | $0 Help center: 'We also accept orders to participate in voluntary corporate actions like tender offers'. source · Oct 30, 2026 | $0 source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| DRIP (auto dividend reinvestment) | Yes source · Oct 30, 2026 | Yes source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Fractional share trading | Yes source · Oct 30, 2026 | Yes ($1 min) source · Oct 30, 2026 |
| Rate on uninvested cash | 3.6% APY (Gold) Requires Robinhood Gold subscription and opting in to High-Yield Cash. Non-Gold rate not stated on this page. source · Oct 30, 2026 | 3.52% 7-day yield of the Government Money Market Fund core position (SPAXX). Not an APY; varies daily. source · Oct 30, 2026 |
Full pages: Robinhood fees · Fidelity fees · Robinhood cash rate · Fidelity cash rate
Questions
Is it cheaper to leave Robinhood or Fidelity?
Full transfer-out: Robinhood $0, Fidelity $0 (official fee schedules).
Which pays more on cash, Robinhood or Fidelity?
Robinhood: 3.6% APY (Gold) (Requires Robinhood Gold subscription and opting in to High-Yield Cash. Non-Gold rate not stated on this page). Fidelity: 3.52% (7-day yield of the Government Money Market Fund core position (SPAXX). Not an APY; varies daily).
Sources
- https://cdn.robinhood.com/assets/robinhood/legal/RHF%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/gold/
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/support/articles/dividend-reinvestment/
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/support/articles/fractional-shares/
- https://robinhood.com/us/en/support/articles/mergers-stock-splits-and-more/
- https://www.fidelity.com/page/manage-cash-rising-costs
- https://www.fidelity.com/trading/commissions-margin-rates
- https://www.fidelity.com/trading/fractional-shares
Each source was read on or before Oct 30, 2026. Fees and rates change; confirm on the broker's site before acting.